Four black women from the film Set It Off laying on the hood of an old blue Chevrolet car. There are stacks of money between the four women on the hood.

RTTC Campaign Strategy Committee | April 2021

 

What is it?
Evictions, rent relief funds, and changing moratoriums are happening so fast, it’s hard to keep track of it all. Want a little inspiration to jumpstart your next move to cancel rent and debt during the pandemic? These are two digital workshop sessions that will give the technical info for how federal American Rescue Plan funds can be spent locally, and to brainstorm and learn from other tenant organizers from around the country how to divert dollars to transformative solutions – not just landlord bailouts. 


When is it?

Session 1: Federal, State, and Local Recovery Funding 💸💸💸  TBD 7pm ET/6pmCT/5pm MT/4pm PT
Session 2: Organizing Strategies and Tactics to Win 💸💸💸 TBD 7pm ET/6pmCT/5pm MT/4pm PT

 

Who is it for?
Organizers✊🏽🔥 and member leaders💪🏽💪🏾💪🏿 from your base!


Will there be interpretation and translation?
Yes. Spanish and Bengali have been identified so far. If you think you have interested members that can benefit from spoken interpretation or written translation, please give Pam a heads up. 


What will it cover? How can it help my campaign?
On top of technical information about the policies and funding, a significant amount of time will make space for smaller group discussion to give organizers a chance to share lessons learned, challenges, and even victories from their own local campaigns. Base members from other networks as well as Homes For All will also be there. 


Should we attend both?
If you can, please do! Go to either or both. Whichever will be most helpful to your team as you develop strategy for your campaigns. Whether it’s for just cause, right to counsel, renters rights, rent and debt forgiveness, or rent control – listen and learn with other organizers, think through strategies, and make connections across the country or your region. 


Who’s leading this?
Grassroots Table members: Center for Popular Democracy, RTTC/HFA, Housing Justice For All, and Partnership For Working Families


How can I sign up?
It’s a closed session by invite only for members of the networks listed above. We’re working on an easy way to get out a zoom invitation to your members who want to attend. Please stay tuned. But if you know you definitely want to come, email or text Pam. 


More questions?

Call, text, or email pam@rightothecity.org, 503.705.8099